New Release

Mary-Margaret and The Case of The Lapsed Parishioner

When Mary-Margaret O’Shea, a woman of a certain age with mildly Machiavellian tendencies, discovers a homicide scene and meets an unimpressive lead investigator, she realizes that she has no choice but to solve the crime herself. With little help from Michael, her police-detective son, she enlists Arthur, her eccentric housekeeper, to help her find the killer.
In Mary-Margaret and The Case of The Lapsed Parishioner, a series of assumptions and misguided steps may lead her to the killer, or they may make her the next victim.

A Word From The Author

“If a real detective wrote crime fiction, what would he write?”

Desmond P. Ryan
Author, Writer, Speaker and Retired Real Detective.

Complete Series

The Mike O'Shea Crime Series

If you love authentic crime fiction, you’ll love The Mike O’Shea Crime Series. In this six-book series, you’ll be absorbed into the world of an inner-city cop trying to do the right thing. Written by a retired Toronto Police Detective, you will find yourself wondering what’s fact and what’s fiction. Be prepared for the emotional rollercoaster that follows as you settle in to read 10-33 Assist PC and Death Before Coffee.

And, when you’re finished, look up Man At The Door, the next book in the series.

What Readers Are Saying

“If you love a crime novel that is dark, raw and gritty, then look no further than 10-33 Assist PC.”

By The Letter Book Reviews

“10-33 Assist PC is gritty, convincing and full of cop humour. “

Emma-Louise Hamilton

“Ryan delivers what he promises – an authenticity derived from experience.”

MM Cheryl Book Reviews

Upcoming Book

Man at the Door

At 6:10 a.m. on a Friday morning, a former lover of Elizabeth MacDonald demanded answers. He had reported her missing the previous day, and Detective Mike O’Shea was stuck cleaning up the mess some rookie had made of the situation. Within hours, ignoring orders, Mike is on the doorstep of the missing elderly woman’s home and discovers that she is not missing. She has been murdered.

In Man At The Door, the third in the Mike O’Shea Crime Fiction Series, Detective Mike O’Shea, an inner-city cop haunted by the unsolved murder of his partner, struggles to perform his duties as he begins to uncover the dirty secrets that have allowed a cop-killer to remain at large for the past thirteen years.